CA2001 problem

"Small" Atari computers
User avatar
TerraNova
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 12:54 pm
Location: Cold land of new earth

CA2001 problem

Post by TerraNova »

I have a CA-2001 which worked nice. Today, however, when turned on, the engine fires, the head flies to track 39 and the engine stops. The listing attempt ends with device not respond.
I'm settling new lands
User avatar
Oldgirls
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 12:17 pm
Location: Old home

CA2001 problem

Post by Oldgirls »

point 0: check the connection of the SIO cable. Point 1: check on a different Atari. It doesn't have to be the station's fault.
WE all are OLD.
User avatar
Oldlegends
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 12:58 pm
Location: storybook

CA2001 problem

Post by Oldlegends »

I checked two cables and two computers - to no avail :(
Legend of old are still alive.
User avatar
Yellohello
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 12:44 pm
Location: Happy place of dreams

CA2001 problem

Post by Yellohello »


But the station starts normally? I mean, on track 0, it turns the engine, and after some time on 39 and stop? Have you checked the second SIO slot? Didn't your station number change to any other than 1?
Hello there all.
User avatar
NamelessOne
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 11:58 am
Location: The nameless city under earth

CA2001 problem

Post by NamelessOne »


This is exactly what is happening

is track 0, the motor starts spinning, goes to track 39 and the motor stops
when I release the pressure and close it again, nothing happens - the engine is stopped and the head is still at 39

I also checked the second SIO port, I did not change the numbering. Yesterday it was working - today elo
I have no name and never will have.
User avatar
ThatGuy02
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2021 10:13 pm
Location: sea

CA2001 problem

Post by ThatGuy02 »


Next in the diagram is the U7 buffer.
User avatar
Wariorr
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 12:10 pm
Location: My training hall

CA2001 problem

Post by Wariorr »


Well, the cables checked, plugs, dip switch too. I think I will mention this U7. Earlier, I also connected the stations to the fujinet grommet and the tape recorder to the station
I'm a great warrior of old lore.
User avatar
Iwa
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 11:41 am
Location: Iwa Town

CA2001 problem

Post by Iwa »


But are you testing without FN?
This is my little place of internet.
User avatar
PanzerGeneral
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:10 am

CA2001 problem

Post by PanzerGeneral »


Yes, no - Atari goals :)
User avatar
ThisGuy01
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2021 11:55 am
Location: Middle of Europe

CA2001 problem

Post by ThisGuy01 »


replacing U7 helped <3
I'm from Poland
Post Reply